Orange salad sprinkled with pomegranate seeds

oranges with pomegranate
“Do you eat frozen pizza?” said the old lady. We had just left our small local supermarket, each wheeling our shopping home and as often happens, she fancied a chat, though we had not met before. It is good practice for my Italian, so I try (though my accent is getting rougher and more Roman, I am told). Anyway, the pizza query. Pizza, yes, but frozen? “Noooo… not very often. We usually make it, or go out…” I said, wondering where this was going. Did I look like the kind of person who eats frozen pizza? Shabby coat, flat shoes AND a frozen-pizza consumer? That would probably not be a good thing. She explained that she had just bought her first frozen pizzas, as they were on offer. “Look! 1.59 euro for two pizza margheritas! But how do I cook them?” The print of the cooking advice was small, so I read it out to her, wondering what she would think of the culinary experience that evening. We waved farewell, and I hope she was not too disappointed.

Speaking of culinary experiences, it is Fiesta Friday Anniversary (part 2)! This time I am bringing this Orange salad sprinkled with pomegranate seeds, in honour of simplicity and freshness, cheerful neighbours and new friends. Very easy to make, and a nice serving of sunshine now that January rain is battering our windows. Many thanks to our wonderful hosts, especially Angie@thenovicegardener. And happy anniversary! This is bound to be a culinary and visual extravaganza! Now, please pardon me while I go schmooze and taste my way through the festivities……. Mmm……….

Fiesta Friday

Orange salad sprinkled with pomegranate seeds

3 oranges
2 blood oranges
1 pomegranate

Slice the peel off the oranges, top and base, then sides. Then slice them horizontally, and layer them in a bowl. Scoop out your pomegranate seeds (a teaspoon helps) and sprinkle this over: voila! Dessert!

sliced oranges

You could use grapefruit as well, and a splash of alcohol might be nice too. This is great for a dinner party, just make it advance and cover it until ready to serve.

image

14 thoughts on “Orange salad sprinkled with pomegranate seeds

  1. Pingback: First Fiesta Friday Anniversary (Part 2) | The Novice Gardener

  2. Nancy

    Just today I was telling a co-worker how much I love orange salads…and here you are sharing one! It’s serendipity. 🙂 I’ve never thought to add pomegranate seeds…what a beautiful touch they add. I will definitely steal your idea next time I make one! Thanks for sharing your delicious recipe..it’s the perfect lighter accompaniment to all of the food being shared at Fiesta Friday today. Delicious!!

    Reply
    1. krumkaker Post author

      I know! There is lovely pizza here, but the frozen ones, hmmmm…. I hope she was being adventurous and not just economizing. Thanks though!

      Reply

Leave a comment

