Sweet potato muffins

imageYou know, I read so many amazing food blogs and admire your collective creativity, style and flair. Thanks for sharing! Then I baked these muffins, enjoyed them, and totally forgot to take any pictures…. until the last four were taken to the office for colleagues Monday morning. Hence this amazing photo shoot with Post-it blocks. These muffins are adapted from a great recipe from Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen: Cinnamon Sweet Potato Muffins with Dark Chocolate Chips and a Cinnamon Topping (does that not just sound incredibly delicious?). Definitely a recipe you should try. I made those with chocolate, and again with orange zest, and this was variation #3.

Sweet potato muffins

1 medium sweet potato (about 325 grammes weight, once roasted and peeled and coarsely mashed)
2 eggs
1 dl milk
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
170 grammes plain white wheat flour (I used 00)
40 grammes golden syrup
1 tbs honey
15 grammes golden caster sugar

Whisk eggs and sugar. Stir all ingredients together, briefly, then spoon into paper muffin molds in a muffin tray. Bake at 180C for 25 minutes.

image

Same four muffins, now perched on my keyboard. My colleagues scoffed them shortly after.

Notes: You could also use 50 grammes of just golden syrup or honey, I was just emptying out a box of syrup. This was a white sweet potato, which surprised me, as the ones we see here are usually orange inside. Maybe it was a yam, despite the store label? After all, I have seen limes in the store marked “limone Caraibi”, Caribbean lemons. Normally I would get sweet potatoes at Piazza Vittorio, the big ethnic market in Rome, so I was thrilled to find sweet potatoes at Tuodi, one of the discount supermarkets. They also had limes, AND purple potatoes, for some reason. I question not the mystery appearances of random vegetables, I just try them.


Anyway, the white sweet potato was not very sweet, so I added a spoon of honey, which seemed to bring out the cinnamon taste in the batter as well. Strangely, the sweet potato pieces had turned green by the next day, like pieces of grated zucchini. I have no idea why that happened, and the taste was still great. I still have couple more sweet potatoes, and will have to see what I do with those next.

3 thoughts on “Sweet potato muffins

Leave a comment

