Walnut sourdough loaf

image
Another beautiful sunny day here in Rome, so my visiting mother-in-law and I ambled round Garbatella, my neighbourhood. She had seen a cardigan at one of the bancarelle, the street stalls that carry clothes, shoes, kitchenware, underwear, sheets: most stalls change neighborhoods almost every day, so we never found her cardigan. On our walk today, we met this Italian tour group twice. Professional guide, remote headsets, discussing Fascist architecture; I did not want to disappoint their experience of a genuine Roman quartiere by speaking English, so we quietly passed them. Here they are in our piazza, photographing the “La Garbatella” relief on the wall.

No cardigan, but I did get sewing needles, and met neighbours at the regular neighborhood market. Such a sign of respectability, to introduce your suocera (mother-in-law). I realized this after a neighbour in Testaccio (another Rome neighbourhood) told me they thought I must have a dark and terrible past, since my parents never came to visit. Years later, I do appreciate that my respectability ranking has edged up this week, having in-laws here. They are so nice, and are enjoying themselves immensely.
Walnut sourdough
This is a sourdough loaf I baked for their arrival.

Walnut sourdough loaf

100 grammes mature sourdough starter, 100% hydration
400 grammes lukewarm water
375 grammes plain white wheat flour (I used 00)
125 grammes wholewheat flour
40 grammes of shelled walnuts
8 grammes salt

Stir the sourdough starter with the water. Add the flours and mix well. Cover with plastic wrap and let rest for 20 minutes. After this initial rest, add the salt. Fold dough with a spatula. Add more flour or water if you think the dough needs it.

image

Cover the bowl and let rise for about a couple hours at room temperature. Fold the dough a few times (just in the bowl, using a spoon or spatula). You will feel the dough becoming more elastic and responsive, and it will increase nicely in size. Fold in the walnuts during the last fold. I had bought these nuts at the farmers market, fresh walnuts. Just crack them and tiss the shelled nuts in, no need to chop them.

For baking same day: move the dough to a floured banneton and cover it with plastic (a hotel shower cap works well), and let it rise 5-6 hours at room temperature.  I cheat, and line the banneton with baking paper, less pretty markings but easier to lift over to the pot. OR: If you are in Rome, it is October and your kitchen is still 27C, leaving the dough to rise overnight in the fridge might work better. Depends when you want to eat and have time to bake.
Walnut sourdough

When ready to bake: heat your oven to 250C, with a cast iron pot. When it is properly hot (or after at least 20 minutes), take the pot out carefully. Invert the dough onto a piece of baking paper, slash the dough, and put the bread in the pot. Bake at 250C for thirty minutes with the lid on, then 10-15 minutes more with the lid off, until the bread looks done and the base of the bread sounds hollow if you tap it. About 45 minutes in all, depending on your oven. Cool before slicing.
image
This is my contribution to Fiesta Friday: a fragrant walnut-speckled loaf. A little late, but with visitors here, time is tight. Happy FF 37 to all! Special thanks to our gracious hosts Angie at The Novice Gardener, Julianna at Foodie on Board, and Hilda at Along the Grapevine. I am going to browse and admire the wonderful FF contributions now, I am always delighted and inspired by what you all bring! Thanks for sharing.

Fiesta Friday

18 thoughts on “Walnut sourdough loaf

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #37 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Hilda

    Looks delicious. I used to buy bread like this when we lived in Switzerland, and would love to make my own. I have some starter well started and hope it is ready soon, in which case I will for sure be making this lovely bread. No fresh walnuts around unfortunately but will settle for imported ones. Enjoy the Fiesta!

    Reply
    1. krumkaker Post author

      Thanks Hilda! Best wishes for your baking, my loaves are often not perfect but usually tasty, and I really enjoy sourdough baking. So nice to see your Jerusalem artichoke chips, they look amazing!

      Reply
  3. chefjulianna

    What a gorgeous loaf of bread! I have always wanted to try making my own bread and of course sourdough is another animal altogether! One day I will get brave enough to do this and I would love to try your recipe! Thanks so much for bringing this to FF! I know it will be a huge hit! 😀

    Reply
  4. Front Range Ferments

    I love making walnut sourdough. This is a new recipe to try. Do you know what makes the bread purple? I’m guessing that it is a reaction of the walnuts skins with the acidic dough but I can’t find any references. Thanks.

    Reply
      1. Front Range Ferments

        My relatives are from Morgedal. My grandmother made us rømmegrøt pudding. Is it still eaten much? I’m going to culture some heavy cream with my kefir and try it with my version of rømmegrøt. I make goat milk cheese and tried to make ekte gjetost. It was interesting but not like any I have bought. It is fun seeing Norge vicariously through your blog. My next project is villi yogurt.

      2. krumkaker Post author

        How nice! Yes, rømmegrøt is very much still in use. A little heavy, with the sour cream, but delicious with butter, cinnamon and sugar with cured meats (spekemat) on the side.

  5. Ginger

    this looks fantastic! I still haven’t managed to bake a bread in the casserole, but this looks so delicious I will have to give it a try … eventually …
    Ginger

    Reply
    1. krumkaker Post author

      As long as people like to bake, what it is in is not important. I am testing one of those weird silicon mixing bowls/baking forms in one now, very odd. Will see how it works! Happy cooking and baking!

      Reply
  6. annaethain

    My husband is the bread-maker in our household, so l have have requested this loaf for his next experiment! Looks so tasty! We live in Thailand so our loaves are always risen overnight in the fridge, 30 degrees plus makes the yeast go crazy!

    Reply
    1. krumkaker Post author

      Excellent! And I will be trying those strawberry scones, maybe with plums (still in season). I know how hot Roman summers can be, and the effect on bread baking, so Thai temperatures must be even more challenging.

      Reply

Leave a comment

