Half-time dinner: Pasta con ricotta e salsiccia

image It is Friday, and I took the day off work today. With houseguests on the way, I scrubbed the bathroom, counted out piles of pillows and sheets, and went to the ferramenta to get keys copied. This is our very local hardware store in Garbatella, a small one-room male bastion and treasure trove of grout, paint, tools and chatty old guys who love to give advice. They are always amused by the straniera (female foreigner) trying to explain a hardware problem in Italian. Today: “Il water perde l’acqua: penso e pieno di calcare…?” A running toilet, probably due to hard water and calcium accumulating somewhere. The ferramenta reassured me this was normal, that they would sort me out a plumber if needed to scrape out the calcium. As this may mean dismantling parts of the bathroom wall, I think this may just have to wait until our visitors have left again.

After a day of domestic fervour, I needed an easy dinner. The World Cup is STILL on, and it is hot, so half-time pasta this time is with ricotta e salsiccie, fresh Italian sausages.  If you get the water boiling when half-time starts, you can just about make this and dish it out during half-time. While my husband is following France-Germany (0-1 now), I am off to Fiesta Friday 23, bearing a large dish of this pasta and lots of Happy 4th of July wishes to all.

Half-time dinner: Pasta con ricotta e salsiccia
400 gr short pasta of your choice
3-4 fresh Italian sausages (salsiccie)
250 gr of ricotta
A little fresh rosemary
Pinch of salt and pepper
Handful of grated parmesan or pecorino
image Boil your pasta in salted water. In the interim, remove the casings from the sausages and chop them roughly. Cook them in a large frying pan, while continuing to break them up, and drain the fat. Chop the rosemary and add it to the sausages. Add the ricotta to the frying pan, and stir well, turning off the heat while you wait for the pasta to finish. Just to al dente.

Take out a half cup of the water the pasta is boiling in. Drain the pasta, and add it to the frying pan and toss all until there is a little ricotta on all the pasta. You might add a splash of the hot pasta water if it looks a bit dry. Sprinkle pepper and grated cheese over, and serve. And be happy the World Cup is over in nine days……..
image

Notes: I have seen this done with a little saffron added, and with a little white wine splashed in, or red wine, and without rosemary: really, do what you like best. I might try a vegetarian version with butter-fried mushrooms next time. In the heat, the less time cooking the better. A very good weekend to all! And thanks to the Fiesta Friday hosts.  image

19 thoughts on “Half-time dinner: Pasta con ricotta e salsiccia

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #23|Happy 4th of July! | The Novice Gardener

  2. Laura- The Experimental Housewife

    Amazing! Thank you for this. Your recipe just inspired my own quick and dirty version for lunch! I used itallian salami and fried it with the rosemary in the same pot that I boiled the pasta in (while it was sitting in the drainer). I tossed the cooked pasta back in with a good dollop of ricotta and some pesto, S&P and voila. This is my new go-to quick dish!

    Reply
    1. krumkaker Post author

      Perfect! I know, after years of making long-cooked tomato based sauces, this seems sacriligeously easy. Adding pesto sounds even better, and with salami as you did, this is really quick to make. I will try this variation next week myself, thanks for the inspiration.

      Reply
  3. lapetitecasserole

    I’m so happy to discover your blog while I’m co-hosting Fiesta Friday! I’m in Italian who lives abroad… posso scriverti forse anche in Italiano??? BTW I’m sure your pasta is amazing, you’ve used all the ingredients that I love the most, especially ricotta! Thanks a lot for sharing!

    Reply
    1. krumkaker Post author

      Piacere! Che bello, di incontrare Lei qui. Sono appena tornata dall mercato con pomodori e anguria, fa caldo a Roma oggi. Grazie per Fiesta Friday 23!

      Reply
  4. Maple&Saffron

    Thank you for liking our post! Lovely to find another food maniac! 😉 Rome is very close to Abruzzo, let us know if you ever happen to come 😉 very nice to meet you! Maple 🙂

    Reply
  5. Sylvia @superfoodista.com

    Delicious recipe! So many things I love about it, pasta and….ricotta!!! Yum! Unfortunately, it’s really hard to find ricotta where I live now (Florida), can you believe it? But every time I buy some, I love to use it in cooking. I will bookmark this for later. Thanks for bringing this to the Fiesta and hope you had lots of fun partying! 😉

    Reply
  6. Laura- The Experimental Housewife

    Reblogged this on The Experimental Housewife and commented:
    Goodness this recipe is good! I used it as inspiration for my own quick and dirty version for lunch! I used Italian salami and fried it with the rosemary in the same pot that I boiled the pasta in (while it was sitting in the drainer). I tossed the cooked pasta back in with a good dollop of ricotta and some pesto, S&P and voila. This is my new go-to quick dish!

    Reply

Leave a comment

